top of page
  • Writer's pictureIt's Tiffany!

HOW I PLAN MY OUTFITS AND PICK LOCATIONS - TIPS

Updated: Jun 29, 2020

Hi guys! Wow, long time no see!

Today I would like to share with you guys how I take photos 😘


These two photos were actually taken at the same place, in the same day, by the same person 😉This may not surprise influencers but definitely surprise non-influencer people. I used to think, wow!, influencers must have to dress up and go take pictures everyday to have pictures to post consistently!


Well, everything is not as it seems 😂


For those influencers who take their Instagram account as a side hustle, we usually choose the location and clothes first, then take all photos in one day and post them gradually over a week or a month. This not only saves time, but also helps us plan our feed. 💕


So how do I do it ?


1. Pick your outfits

If you are a fashion blogger like me, you will want to think about which outfits you want to share next. Pick your outfits first would help pick the location easier which is the next step since you know exactly what you want. For example, if I want to share an office outfit, I will want to take my photos around buildings or in downtown, somewhere that relates to the work place. This depends all on your ideas and creativity!


2. Pick the location

The location could be your front yard, your back yard, a park near your house, or even in your bedroom as long as it has good lighting!✨ Again, it all depends on the content you want to create. You can also choose a location before choosing an outfit if it's a nice place you've just known about recently.


One tip I'm using for myself is I would pick the location relating to my outfits and could highlight them! 📝

With this photo, for examples, we picked the location first. I knew the wall is pink and white so I picked an outfit that has at least one color similar to the wall. The black skirt was chosen to create a contrast to help me stand out! I wouldn't recommend wearing a pink dress as it will get you mixed in with the color of the wall 😊


Another example is when I was invited to Color Factory as a Yelp Elite member.


Since I had not been there before, I had looked up this place online so I knew what are inside before I even when there. Most rooms don't have red color, so wearing a red dress really makes me stand out easily.❤️


Noticeably , the restroom is located at the end of the tour so I cannot change clothes during the tour. So what I did was I brought a red skirt that matched perfectly with the bodycon dress (pic 1), and I wore it when we needed to include some movement in the photos (pic 3). 😍


3. Bring extra outfits

This tip really saves time and helps me plan my feed better.

The first two images at the top of the blog were taken at one location but it looked like I went to take photos in two different locations, on different days.🤪 I planned to take photos at the pink wall - "Here. Right where you're meant to be." - then discovered the lovely pink door which is right next to it! Got on the car to change clothes, then got back for more photos, at the end, I got two photos that could be used in my feed 😍


You will never know what would happen so always bring extra clothes! 😊


Before finishing this article, let's summarize the tips mentioned above together!

  • Pick an outfit you want to share and really understand the message you want to share through that outfit.

  • Pick a location that relates to the outfit and can highlight it.

  • Always bring extra clothes. It is best if you can mix and match them together.

  • Use your car at a changing room.

  • Do some research about the location (do they have a parking lot ? do we have to pay any fee ?)

Well, hope you guys find this article useful!❤️ Let me know what you think! 😘❤️

 

"here. right where you're meant to be." - 3607 White Oak Dr.

Color Factory Houston - 3303 Kirby Dr, Houston, TX 77098


Link to buy



87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page